St. James Summer Chapel
As the only church on Prout's Neck, St. James has been for generations of Prouts Neck residents a "House of Prayer for All People." with scores of baptisms, marriages, and memorial services.
In 1875, Arthur B. Homer, the younger brother of Winslow Homer, honeymooned at Prouts Neck. Within several years the clan had acquired ownership of about half of the neck. While the eldest Mr. Homer wished to erect a Union Chapel to serve the needs of all demoninations, a group of local Episcopalians, including Bishop Henry Adams Neely, had their way. By 1885 the initial structure of what is now St. James was built for $675. It was consecrated by the Bishop on August 20, 1890 and dedicated to the patron saint of fisherman and "all them that down to the sea in ships.".
The Merrick family from Philadelphia was instrumental in founding St. James and very active in the life of the church.
St. James has had the unique privilege of being served by two clergy each summer for 36 years. In 1998 the Rev. Charles Newbery and the Rt. Rev. G.P. Mellick Belshaw, Retired Bishop of New Jersey, completed their respective July and August ministries. Bishop Belshaw's father Canon Harold Belshaw served from 1945 to 1962.